CLSAB and Lumber Grading Quality

The Canadian Lumber Standards Accreditation Board (CLSAB) is the official body that monitors the quality of Canada’s lumber grading and identification system.

Founded in Canada’s 1960 National Housing Act and in the ISO-certified Canadian Standards Association (CSA), the CLSAB derives its authority, mandate and structure from CSA.

It has four main roles:
  • control the identification and certification of lumber
  • accredit and supervise lumber grading agencies
  • review and approve grading rules and product standards related to grading agencies
  • promote acceptance of the Canadian lumber grading system in foreign markets

The CLSAB is overseen by a Board of Directors carefully chosen to provide a balance of lumber producers, lumber users, standards bodies, research organizations, financial institutions, and government agencies.

Its work is recognized and relied upon by government and standards agencies in this country and overseas, and referenced in the National and Provincial Building Codes across Canada.

Lumber grading in Canada is an all-encompassing system which includes:
  • training and supervision of graders
  • consensus-based grading rules, product standards and regulations
  • contract responsibilities
  • review of mill grading and operations by accredited Lumber Grading Agencies
  • review of agencies’ performance by CLSAB